My take-on with i3 window manager in Fedora Linux

Behind a Tinkerer
2 min readFeb 13, 2022

Against all odds in graphical interface for keyboard junkies

urxvt in i3 window manager. Image by Fedora i3 SIG.

For minimalism and keyboard-driven workflow on a laptop, I love the i3 tiling window manager that is lightweight and splits windows vertically and horizontally by keybindings. i3 helps a simple way to work with documentation, web browsing, terminal and text editor.

For out-of-the-box experience without layering on desktop environment, I install Fedora i3 Spin. Here are a few settings tweaked to my preference;

  • Install slick-greeter and xrdb
  • Enable and restart lightdm (display manager) to relogin: login screen looks cool

Terminal emulators

I use GUI for basic settings. The terminal is for ssh, fine-tuning system, and advanced configuration.

I settled in with GNOME Terminal and urxvt. The latter comes with i3 Spin. It requires editing a text file in ~/.Xresources

GNOME Terminal

GNOME terminal reminds me of the age-old cliché: ‘it just works.’

A minimalist GNOME Terminal set-up is;
- Set custom keyboard shortcuts: ctrl + alt + t
- Pimp bash prompt with Powerline: Source from Fedora Magazine

--

--

Behind a Tinkerer

Talks about #documentation #sportmotivation | Follow me on Mastodon for more: @hankuoffroad@floss.social